# 2024 SOUTHEASTERN YOUTH FAIR BESS MILLER AWARD

# > COORDINATOR:

> ENTRY DEADLINE:

MARION COUNTY CATTLEWOMEN Friday, January 12, 2024 – "Bess Miller Award" Entry Mail to: SEYF, PO Box 404, Ocala, FL 34478 Or and deliver to the Fair Office See Awards Schedule

## > AWARDS:

Hoping to encourage girls showing an interest in the field of agriculture, the Marion County Cattlewomen annually approves the following proclamation. As a result, a deserving young woman is rewarded with a beautiful engraved tray in honor of her outstanding efforts.

WHEREAS, Mrs. Bess Miller served as a working member of the Marion County Cattlewomen for many years and was a beloved member of this organization,

WHEREAS, Mrs. Bess Miller also served and was an active member of the Florida State Cattlewomen organization and,

WHEREAS, Mrs. Bess Miller was long interested in the work of young people in our county in the field of agriculture,

BE IT THEN RESOLVED that the annual award for the outstanding 4-H girl from Marion County be henceforth known as the Bess Miller Outstanding Achievement Award.

### TO QUALIFY

- You must be a deserving female participating in the SEYF Steer project as a FFA or 4-H member.
- Must display outstanding character, integrity, citizenship and demonstrate excellent leadership skills along with working knowledge of approved animal husbandry practices, sound management practices and good record keeping skills.
- Must have shown steers for at least two years at the SEYF and involved in the beef industry.
- A SEYF record book is required.
- One letter of recommendation from a prominent or well-known citizen (not related to applicant) attesting to the character and citizenship qualities of the applicant.
- Display a diligent effort and desire "to make the best better"

\*Marion County Cattlewomen reserve the right to interview candidates as deemed necessary by selection committee during the week of February 5th- 9th, 2024.

### AWARDS

Chosen candidate will receive an Engraved Tray presented by the Marion County Cattlewomen, this is a one time award.